Harrisonburg Turks

Member of the Valley Baseball League and NACSB.

  • 1955 VBL Champions
  • 1958 VBL Champions
  • 1959 VBL Champions
  • 1962 VBL Champions
  • 1964 VBL Champions
  • 1969 VBL Champions
  • 1970 VBL Champions
  • 1971 VBL Champions
  • 1977 VBL Champions
  • 1991 VBL Champions
  • 2000 VBL Champions
  • 2012 VBL Champions
  • 2023 VBL Champions

SIU Baseball Announces MVP and Abe Martin Award Winners

6/21/04 – By Jeff Honza, www.SIUSalukis.com

Emrick And Weber Share MVP Award, Andrews Wins Abe Martin Award June 21, 2004 By Jeff Honza www.SIUSalukis.com CARBONDALE, Ill. – Sophomore Nathan Emrick and junior Andrew Weber were this year’s Itch Jones Co-Most Valuable Players, and senior Greg Andrews won the Abe Martin Award, head coach Dan Callahan announced today. A first-team all-Missouri Valley Conference utility player, Emrick played at six different positions for the Salukis this season. A native of Griggsville, Ill., he led SIU in several offensive categories, including batting average (.353), at-bats (238), runs scored (36) and hits (84). He also ranked second on the team in RBI (34) and stolen bases (15). Additionally, Emrick was named to the MVC all-tournament and scholar-athlete teams. Also a first-team all-MVC pick, Weber had an outstanding year as SIU’s number one closer. A right-hander from Midlothian, Ill., Weber collected a near-perfect 5-1 record and a 3.13 ERA to go along with an impressive 11 saves. His 11 saves in 2004 and 12 saves in his career rank second on SIU’s single season and career charts, respectively. Not to mention, Weber finished tied for 15th in the nation in saves. In 1996, SIU’s MVP Award was renamed in honor of former Saluki skipper Richard "Itch" Jones, who coached the Dawgs from 1970-90. Meanwhile, the Abe Martin Award is named after former Saluki coach Abe Martin (1947-65), and exemplifies honesty, leadership, excellence, dedication and loyalty. Andrews couldn’t have been a better fit for the award. A native of Peoria, Ill., Andrews led the Dawgs in doubles (17), home runs (8) and RBI (39). The second baseman also helped SIU turn 67 double plays. Additionally, he finished his Saluki career ranking tied for eighth in career home runs (23) and fourth in career doubles (47). "Greg has meant a great deal to Saluki Baseball the past four years," stated Callahan. "In addition to the success he has experienced on the field, his unselfish attitude and dedication to our program are second to none. We are proud to name Greg the recipient of this prestigious award." The Abe Martin Award was first established in 1972.