Haran Headlines Award Winners Playing in the Valley League

6/25/2006 – Valley Baseball League News

2006 Collegiate Baseball Award Winners in the VBL Valley Baseball League News Current New Market Rebel Gerard Haran leads an extensive list of former and current Valley Baseball League players who were recognized during the 2006 collegiate baseball season. The award winners include 11 All-Americans, 53 NCAA Division I All-Conference selections, and Haran, the NCAA Division III National Player of the Year. Haran, a junior catcher from the College of New Jersey, was named Division III Player of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association and the Position Player of the Year by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers of America. The New Jersey Athletic Conference Player of the Year batted .429 with 64 runs scored, 21 doubles, 14 home runs, 64 runs driven in, an .859 slugging percentage, and a .559 on-base percentage. Below is the complete list of current and former Valley Leaguers who were honored for the 2006 collegiate season. Corrections or updates to the list should be submitted to kwarner@valleyleaguebaseball.com. Atlantic Coast Conference First Team All-Conference Matt Camp, N.C. State (Covington) Tom Hagan, Virginia, (Covington) Jon Jay, Miami, (Staunton) Eddy Rodriguez, Miami (Luray) Atlantic Coast Conference Second Team All-Conference Jeff Kindel, Georgia Tech, (Covington) Brandon Marsh, Virginia (Staunton) Chris Perez, Miami (Staunton) Atlantic Sun Conference First Team All-Conference Danny Murphy, Jacksonville (Luray) (Atlantic Sun Player of the Year) Brantley New, Mercer (Staunton) Matt Oxendine, North Florida (New Market) Brad Johnson, North Florida (Luray) Atlantic Sun Conference Second Team All-Conference Jeremy Papelbon, North Florida (Loudoun) Josh Thompson, Mercer (Winchester) Brian Bocock, Stetson (Luray) Atlantic Sun Conference All-Freshman Team Tyler McCarty, Mrecer (Staunton) Brian Pruitt, Stetson (Luray) Atlantic Sun Conference All-Tournament Team Caleb Glafenhein, East Tennessee (Staunton) Brandon Paritz, Stetson (Luray) Shane Jordan, Stetson (Luray) Atlantic 10 First Team All-Conference Derrik Lutz, George Washington (Front Royal) Atlantic 10 Second Team All-Conference Ryan Cunningham (Rhode Island) Atlantic 10 Conference All-Tournament Team Andrew Abokhair, George Washington (Haymarket) Big East Conference First Team All-Conference Stan Posluszny, West Virginia (Luray) Tim Norton, Uconn, (New Market) David Carpenter, West Virginia (Covington) Big East Conference Second Team All-Conference Adam White, West Virginia (Waynesboro) Big East Conference Third Team All-Conference Matt Bransfield, Notre Dame, (Waynesboro) Big East Conference Freshman of the Year Addison Maruszak, South Florida (Woodstock) Big East Conference Tournament MVP Wade Korpi, Notre Dame (Staunton) Big South Conference Second Team All-Conference Trey Barham, VMI (Front Royal) Big 10 Conference First Team All-Conference Tim Gudex, Iowa (Harrisonburg) Big 10 Conference Third Team All-Conference Reggie Watson, Indiana (Harrisonburg) Alan Stidfole, Penn St. (Winchester) Colonial Athletic Association First Team All-Conference Nate Schill, JMU (Harrisonburg) Michael Cowgill, JMU (Covington) Dana Arrowood, ODU (Front Royal) Patrick Nichols, ODU (Front Royal) Conference USA First Team All-Conference Adam Amar, Memphis (Luray) Missouri Valley Conference Honorable Mention All-Conference Kevin Koski, Southern Illinois (Harrisonburg) Northeast Conference First Team All-Conference & Player of the Year Nick Massari, Monmouth (Staunton) Ohio Valley Conference First Team All-Conference Brett Bolger, Eastern Kentucky (New Market) Chris O’Dell, Eastern Kentucky (New Market) Ohio Valley Conference Second Team All-Conference Rowdy Hardy, Austin Peay (Staunton) Southeastern Conference First Team All-Conference Quinn Stewart, LSU (Staunton) Michael Campbell, South Carolina (Winchester) Southland Conference Second Team All-Conference Derek Blacksher, McNeese St. (Staunton) Southland Conference Honorable Mention All-Conference Joe Hulett, McNeese St. (Waynesboro) Sun Belt Second Team All-Conference Clint Robinson, Troy (Harrisonburg) Jeff Beachum, Middle Tennessee (Staunton) James McOwen, Florida International (Luray) Devery Van De Keere, Louisiana-Lafayette (Covington) West Coast Conference First Team All-Conference & West Coast Player of the Year Scott Cousins, San Francisco (Harrisonburg) All-Independent First Team Tim Haines, UT-Pan America (Staunton) DIVISION II FIRST TEAM ALL-AMERICAN Matt Smith, Catawba (Waynesboro) Nick Wandless, USC-Aiken (Front Royal) Jeff Miller, W.Va. State (Front Royal) Ryan Taylor, W.Va. State (Covington) DIVISION III FIRST TEAM ALL-AMERICAN Gerard Haran, College of N.J. (New Market)(ABCA DIII Player of the Year & NCBWA DIII Position Player of the Year) NAIA FIRST TEAM ALL-AMERICAN Brandon Harrigan, Oklahoma City (Harrisonburg) Jon Kirby, Lee (Luray) NAIA HONORABLE MENTION ALL-AMERICAN Ryan Rachal, Oklahoma City (Harrisonburg) NJCAA ALL-AMERICAN THIRD TEAM Jared Bradford, Shelton State (Luray) NJCAA ALL-AMERICAN HONORABLE MENTION Tyler Young, Anne Arundel (Staunton) Enrique Garcia, Potomac State (Winchester)