Harrisonburg Turks

Member of the Valley Baseball League and NACSB.

  • 1955 VBL Champions
  • 1958 VBL Champions
  • 1959 VBL Champions
  • 1962 VBL Champions
  • 1964 VBL Champions
  • 1969 VBL Champions
  • 1970 VBL Champions
  • 1971 VBL Champions
  • 1977 VBL Champions
  • 1991 VBL Champions
  • 2000 VBL Champions
  • 2012 VBL Champions
  • 2023 VBL Champions

Turks Yo-Yo Season Continues

07/10/2010 – Turks Tidbits

By Brett Kucheruk Turks Webcast Color Commentator

James Madison University Intern

Harrisonburg, VA – The Turks struggles continue as they lose for the seventh time in their last 10 games. After a fast pace start to the game, Harrisonburg led 4-3 after the first, the Royals continued to tack on runs while the Turks struggled to score losing 10-6 to Winchester.

Harrisonburg fell behind 3-0 in the first, but were able to score four runs in the bottom half of the inning to take a 4-3 lead. The Turks first inning run production came from a RBI double by Bobby Brown (Arizona) and a two RBI single by Scott Dalrymple (Oklahoma City). Terrance Jackson (Oklahoma City) and Tyler Carpenter (UT-San Antonio) were both hit by pitches to load the bases, and Joe Huber (St. Joseph’s, In.) was walked to bring in the fourth Turks run. Winchester’s pitching staff then settled down and only allowed two more runs, a RBI double by Shaun Cooper (Pima C.C.) in the fourth and a RBI single by Connor Winn (Georgia Tech) in the sixth.

Zach Brewster (Georgia Tech) got the start for Harrisonburg and allowed six runs on seven hits and three walks while striking out three Winchester batters in five innings of work. The bullpen continued to have troubles for the Turks allowing four runs over the final four innings of the game.

Harrisonburg will host the Valley League All-Star game tonight, Sunday July 11th at 7:30 p.m. The festivities will kick off with the Home Run Derby at 5:30 p.m. and will be followed by the 60-yard dash competition at 6:00 p.m. The Turks next home game will be against Staunton on Tuesday July 13th at 7:30 p.m.