Harrisonburg Turks

Member of the Valley Baseball League and NACSB.

  • 1955 VBL Champions
  • 1958 VBL Champions
  • 1959 VBL Champions
  • 1962 VBL Champions
  • 1964 VBL Champions
  • 1969 VBL Champions
  • 1970 VBL Champions
  • 1971 VBL Champions
  • 1977 VBL Champions
  • 1991 VBL Champions
  • 2000 VBL Champions
  • 2012 VBL Champions
  • 2023 VBL Champions

Winchester Offense Rolls Again

8/5/2010 – Turks Tidbits

Royals Defeat Turks to Even Series at One

By Brett Kucheruk, Turks Webcast Color Commentator

James Madison University Intern

Harrisonburg, VA – After the previous two games against the Turks where the Royals scored four runs combined, Winchester got the offense rolling defeating Harrisonburg 8-5. With the victory, the Royals have evened the series with the Turks and the winner of the next game will move into the second round of the playoffs.

The Turks did all their damage in the second and third innings scoring all five of their runs. In the second, Cole Harrison (Florida) singled, Josh Band (Rollins) walked, and Caleb Bowen (Auburn) then hit a three-run home-run over the left-field fence.

In the bottom of the third, Harrisonburg got the offense going again with singles by Scott Dalrymple (Oklahoma City), Austin Erb (Ashland), and Emilio Pagan (Gardner Webb) to load the bases. Band then came up and hit a two RBI single to give the Turks a 5-2 lead.

Winchester banged out 14 hits, seven of them coming in the fifth inning, and scored six runs in the inning. This gave the Royals an 8-5 lead. Big hits in the inning for the Royals came from Cory Spangenberg (VMI) and Nathan Minnich (Shepherd) who each had two RBI doubles.

The starting pitchers for both teams had trouble shutting down the hitters from the opposing teams. Kurt Wunderlich (Michigan State) pitched 4 1/3 innings striking out four while giving up eight runs on 12 hits.

Game three, the deciding game for this first round matchup, will be played tonight in Winchester at 7:30. The winner of this game will move into the second round of the playoffs, joining the Haymarket Senators as the first two teams to advance.