Harrisonburg Turks Claim 2012 Jim Lineweaver Cup

W: Shawn O’Neill (4-1)
L: Neely (5-3)
S: Pike (3)


Harrisonburg came home to Veterans Memorial Park one last time to grind out a 5-3 win against the Winchester Royals and win the 2012 Jim Lineweaver Cup. It’s the organization’s 12th championship, the first since 2000.

The Turks spotted the Royals two runs on three infield errors in the top of the first, but Ryan Lee quickly erased the bad memories with a two run bomb over the right field wall in his first at bat.

Each team would score once in the sixth frame, but it was Harrisonburg’s additional runs in the second and fourth frames that carried the day.

Closer Shawn O’Neill started his second game of the postseason and improved his overall record to 4-1. He took a quality start into the sixth inning, fanning four and allowing just four hits and one earned run, before being relieved by Chris Pike for the remainder of the game. Pike allowed only two hits in the final 3 2/3 innings, securing the 3-1 series win for the Turks.

Lee finished 1 of 4 with 2 RBI from his homer. Catcher Eric Mason and shortstop RJ Perucki each finished 1 of 2 with an RBI and a walk.

Winchester left fielder Garret Autrey and third baseman Zach Woolcock each posted two hits.

For Harrisonburg, they will almost certainly finish highly in the top 30 summer league team rankings. For now, the players can be satiated knowing they won the final game of the season.