Harrisonburg Turks

Member of the Valley Baseball League and NACSB.

  • 1955 VBL Champions
  • 1958 VBL Champions
  • 1959 VBL Champions
  • 1962 VBL Champions
  • 1964 VBL Champions
  • 1969 VBL Champions
  • 1970 VBL Champions
  • 1971 VBL Champions
  • 1977 VBL Champions
  • 1991 VBL Champions
  • 2000 VBL Champions
  • 2012 VBL Champions
  • 2023 VBL Champions

Turks Defeated in Last Regular-Season Game

Tuesday, July 26, 2022
John Breeden
Harrisonburg, VA

The Harrisonburg Turks fell 7-3 to the Waynesboro Generals in the last regular-season game Monday night at Veterans Memorial Park. The Turks are the No. 3 seed in the south division entering the playoffs.

Turks pitcher Andrew Williams was lights out in the top of the first, striking out the side to end the inning. Harrisonburg got on board in the bottom of the first courtesy of a solo home run to center field from the first baseman Mitch Farris (Wingate).

Waynesboro’s TJ Clarkson (Utah) tied the game up after driving in John Montes (Central Florida) on a single.

The Generals took the lead in the top of the fourth by scoring two runs. Garrett Howe (Samford) drove in Garrett Bogart (Embry-Riddle) on a single and later scored on an RBI groundout.

Right fielder Jaylon Lee (JMU) put the Turks within one in the bottom of the fourth after driving in designated hitter Mikey Rosario on an RBI double.

Waynesboro stretched its lead out over the next two innings. Howe walked with the bases loaded to force a run in the top of the fifth.

In the top of the sixth, Jalen Vasquez (North Greenville) slammed a two-run homer to right field — putting the Generals up by four.

The Generals kept the momentum going, scoring again in the top of the eighth with Caleb Cali (Arkansas Fayetteville) hitting an RBI single.

The Turks tried to rally in the bottom of the eighth as shortstop Seaver King (Wingate) ripped one left field for an RBI double. They couldn’t rally enough, however, as they took the 7-3 loss.

The Turks travel to Waynesboro on Tuesday to face the Generals in game one of a best-of-three playoff series. The winner of the series will go on to face the winner of the No. 1 Charlottesville Tom Sox versus the No. 4 Covington Lumberjacks best-of-three series.