Oklahoma City Stars win 2005 NAIA Championship

6/3/05 – Oklahoma City University

The TURKS want to extend their congratulations to former TURKS Coach, OCU Assistant Coach Keith Lytle, and 2004 TURKS Alumni Mike Mlotkowski and Cameron Clarke for their 2005 NAIA National Championship. Mlotkowski, RHP, earned the Tournament MVP Award while Clarke, 2B, earned his spot on the All Tournament Team. Oklahoma City University beat Embry-Riddle 8-1 to get their first national title. Stars Win!!! 2005 National Championship Friday, June 03, 2005 Oklahoma city University LEWISTON, Idaho – Mike Mlotkowski allowed only four hits in eight innings and Colby Overstreet drove in three runs to help the Oklahoma City University baseball team to its first national title with an 8-1 win over Embry-Riddle University in the championship game of the 49th annual Avista NAIA World Series at Harris Field. The Stars out-hit Embry-Riddle 16-4 in the contest and used Mlotkowski’s second strong outing of the tournament to become the 25th program to capture an NAIA baseball national championship. The victory also snapped a three-game losing streak in title games for the Stars (67-12), who were making their fourth straight championship game appearance. Embry-Riddle (53-10) was making its first title game appearance. The Eagles from Daytona Beach, Fla., actually led 1-0 in the second inning when Victor Roldan drew a two-out walk and scored on a double by Derrick Pyles. That, however, was all they could muster off of Mlotkowski, who was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player. The 6-foot-6 senior right-hander, who went 14-1 during the season, went 2-0 in Series play, allowing just one run and nine hits in 14.1 innings. He also struck out 13. The Stars featured five players on the NAIA World Series All-Tournament Team. Along with Mlotkowski’s MVP honor, Cameron Clarke, Ryan Walker, Colby Overstreet and Jeff McLaughlin were listed among the honor squad. Mlotkowski struck out five Thursday night, but did run into some control problems as he also walked seven. The Stars had plenty of opportunities in the contest and finally broke it open in the seventh with four runs after scoring two apiece in the fourth and sixth innings. Even with that productivity, the Stars stranded 14 runners on base. Of the 16 hits by the Stars, all but Overstreet’s home run were singles. Oklahoma City took the lead in the fourth when Nick Klusaw opened with a walk and Overstreet followed with a home run to right field, his third homer of the Series. The Stars made it 4-1 in the sixth as Embry-Riddle struggled to find fresh arms. Overstreet started the rally with a one-out single and went to third on a single by Derek Snell. After Snell stole second, Alexi Ojeda was intentionally walked to load the bases. With two outs, pinch-hitter Antwan Capla singled to right to drive in two runs. Overstreet also had a hand in the four-run seventh. After a single and an error, Overstreet drove in the first run with a single. Snell, Bobby Spain and Walker followed with consecutive RBI singles to make it 8-1. Overstreet finished 3-for-4 at the plate with three RBI and three runs scored. Clarke added four hits, and Walker had three hits. Pyles had two of Embry-Riddle’s four hits. Starter Ryan Patrick allowed two runs and four hits in the first four innings for the Eagles and took the loss. Relievers David Timm and Chris Langois had already pitched in two games the past week and combined to allow 12 hits over the final five innings. 2005 Avista NAIA World Series All-Tournament Team 1B – Jerimy Austin, Spalding 2B – Cameron Clarke, OCU 3B – Victor Roldan, Embry-Riddle SS – Kenny Holmberg, Embry-Riddle INF – Matt Soergel, Aquinas C – Richard Cormier, Embry-Riddle C – Ryan Walker, OCU OF – Joey Dyche, Lewis-Clark State OF – Jacob Julius, Spalding OF – Colby Overstreet, OCU OF – Charlie McFarlane, Cumberland DH – Jeremy Jackay, Spalding P – Kyle Wright, Lewis-Clark State P – Mike Mlotkowski, OCU P – Josh Underhill, Cumberland P – Jeff McLaughlin, OCU Most Valuable Player – Mike Mlotkowski, OCU Charles Berry Hustle Award – Joey Dyche, LCSC Gold Glove Award – Kenny Holmberg, ERAU Hank Burbridge Champion of Character Award – Josh Underhill, Cumberland