Congratulations to the Waynesboro Generals

8/11/2007 – Turks Tidbits

Waynesboro Takes It All The 2007 season proved to be a memorable one for the Waynesboro Generals. Their list of accomplishments are amazing. On Friday night they won the VBL Championship after beating Luray in a 3-1 playoff series to take home the Jim Lineweaver Cup for the first time since 1998. The Generals also won the regular season penant with a 30-13-1 record. They also have the league’s best mark over the last two years combined at 57-28-1. Twice during the season they were ranked the 9th and 10th summer team in the country. Coach Lawrence Nesselrodt was named the VBL’s top manager for the second consecutive season. Three of the Generals were named to the 2007 All Valley League Team. Two were repeat picks from the 2006 season. Kurt Davidson was the selection at first base after being honored at third base in 2006. Kurt Davidson led the league by a wide margin with 51 RBIs and 61 hits. Davidson was also second with 90 total bases, while hitting .305 with 12 doubles and five homers. A clutch hitter all season, Davidson had the game-winning RBI in the Generals’ semifinal Game 3 win over Covington and in the championship series opener in the 14th inning against Luray. The other repeat honoree was Generals’ ace Jon Dages, who went 7-2 with a 2.62 ERA. Entering the championship, he ranks second in the league with 68 2-3 innings pitched and seven wins. Waynesboro’s other all-league winner was second baseman Brandon Sizemore. He sat third in the league with 53 hits and led the Generals with 13 doubles. Sizemore hit .277 with a triple, three homers, 27 RBIs and 13 steals. The Harrisonburg Turks want to congratulate Generals owner, Jim Critzer, the Generals organization, Coach Lawrence Nesselrodt and the rest of the team for a great 2007 season!